Announcing the Winners of the 2018 CAS Trust Scholarship

The CAS is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 CAS Trust Scholarship. Ann Pogrebitskiy, rising junior at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln is the recipient of the $10,000 scholarship. Adam Lathan, rising junior at Drake University and Kristen Marshall, rising senior at Illinois State University, are recipients of the $5,000 scholarships.

The CAS Trust Scholarship program, funded by donations to the CAS Trust, awards up to three scholarships to deserving students annually. The scholarship’s intent is to further students’ interest in the property and casualty actuarial profession and encourage pursuit of CAS designations. Recipients are chosen by the CAS Trust Scholarship Subcommittee of the University Engagement Committee.

“The 2018 application process was extremely competitive,” commented Silvia Bach, FCAS, chair of the CAS Trust Scholarship Program. “We had a large pool of highly qualified candidates, making the selection process quite a challenge. The three awardees really impressed the committee, and we look forward to celebrating their achievements at the 2018 CAS Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, where they will be recognized!”

CAS President Brian Brown added, “The CAS is dedicated to fostering the next generation of property and casualty actuaries. With programs like the CAS Trust Scholarship, we are able to recognize and support extraordinary actuarial students who will be joining the community of property and casualty actuaries in the near future. I congratulate this year’s winners of the CAS Trust Scholarship and look forward to meeting them at our Annual Meeting.”

To learn more about the CAS Trust Scholarship visit the CAS website or contact CAS Marketing and Communications Coordinator Maha Chaudhry.

Search CAS Directory