2019 CAS University Award Program – Now Accepting Applications

At the CAS, we’re passionate about the unique role that universities play in advancing the body of knowledge of actuarial science, especially within property and casualty insurance.  We are pleased to announce that the CAS is now accepting applications for the 2019 CAS University Award Program. The program, now in its fourth year, will recognize colleges and universities that excel in exposing students to the property and casualty insurance industry in innovative ways, with a focus on Curriculum, Research, or Engagement.

The CAS University Award Program promotes and celebrates the award winners, and facilitates the sharing of ideas within the academic community. Up to three schools will be honored through the CAS University Award Program. The winning schools will each receive substantial recognition, such as on the CAS website and in a press release, as well as a monetary award of $5,000 to further enhance their programs.

The application deadline is March 15, 2019 and winners will be announced by June 1, 2019.

We are seeking applications from schools that demonstrate innovation in exposing students to property and casualty topics in any of the following focus areas:

  • Curriculum: Innovative classes or coursework offered that facilitate the understanding of property and casualty insurance topics.
  • Research: Production of research in the field of property and casualty insurance; innovative opportunities to pursue property and casualty research.
  • Engagement: Unique ways of fostering connections to the property and casualty industry through events or partnerships with property and casualty employers and organizations. 

These are just a few examples of ways that schools can demonstrate their commitment to enhancing education and research in the property and casualty insurance industry. Applicants are welcome to provide examples outside of those outlined. Additionally, applicants do not need to demonstrate innovation in every one of the focus areas. Our 2018 CAS University Award Program winners included Arizona State University, Renmin University of China, and The University of Texas at Austin.

Application Instructions:
Applicants can access the 2019 CAS University Award Program Application Form online using their CAS login/password credentials. Applicants requiring CAS login credentials should contact Tamar Gertner, CAS University Engagement Manager for assistance.

CAS University Award Program Timeline 
Application Deadline: March 15, 2019
Announcement of Winners: June 1, 2019
Recognition at CAS Annual Meeting in Hawaii: November 10-13, 2019

Please direct questions about the CAS University Award Program to Tamar Gertner, CAS University Engagement Manager, at Tgertner@casact.org.

The CAS University Engagement Committee has implemented a three year waiting period before winners of the CAS University Award may reapply for the award. See complete list of winners from previous years.

Search CAS Directory